Sara Anghel elected as the new ICOMIA President


Following the 54th ICOMIA Annual General Meeting on 22nd May 2020, Sara Anghel was elected the new ICOMIA President.Sara Anghel, president of the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) Canada has led the association for more than 12 years and has nearly 25 years of government relations experience. She represents the interests of the entire boating industry including US and Canadian manufacturers, Canadian boat dealers and marine operators.Under Sara’s leadership members have seen many firsts including the creation of a Canadian statistical abstract; Recreational Boating Day on Parliament Hill; more than $600,000 in federal government grant funding to support Canadian manufacturers to export abroad and $400,000 to develop boating safety programs in Canada and aided in bringing harmonized standards between the US and Canada.Sara’s contributions extend to the advancement of women in the marine industry including building a case that led to the creation of an expanded maternity/parental benefits package for NMMA US employees. Sara is passionate about working with the millennial women in the industry to help them build confidence in their abilities and support them in developing their ideas. Sara Anghel said:“It is an honour and privilege to become ICOMIA President. I commit to the global recreational boating industry that I shall work tirelessly to steer us through this most difficult time while charting the future growth of the industry and ICOMIA” At the ICOMIA Annual General Meeting, a number of additional ICOMIA positions were voted on, welcoming two new members to the ICOMIA Executive Committee: Lawrence Chow, Chair of the Hong Kong Boating Industry Association and Lesley Robinson, CEO of British Marine.Two new Vice Presidents were elected- Darren Vaux, President of the Boating Industry Association in Australia and Mats Eriksson, CEO of Sweboat. Also, The Exporters Committee and Market Intelligence Taskforce appointed new chairs: Jarkko Pajusalo (Finnboat) and Stefano Pagani (Confindustria Nautica).